CTP Premium committee

The SIRA Board has established the SIRA Compulsory Third Party (CTP) Premium Committee under section 10.3 of the Motor Accident Injuries Act 2017 and section 22 of the State Insurance and Care Governance Act 2015.

The Committee’s role is to advise the SIRA Board on matters pertaining to CTP insurance premiums.

Member profiles

Chair, Nancy Milne, OAM

Ms Milne is a former lawyer with over 30 years’ experience primarily in insurance and reinsurance, risk management, corporate governance and professional negligence.

Currently Chair of the Accounting Professional and Ethical Standards Board, Securities Exchange Guarantee Corporation, and the State Insurance Regulatory Authority (SIRA) Compulsory Third Party Premium Committee, Ms Milne is also an Independent Member of the SIRA Audit and Risk Committee, a director of FBR Limited, ALE Property Group, and a member of the Asbestos Safety and Eradication Council and the NSW Council of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

She was a partner with Clayton Utz until 2003 and a consultant until 2012. In 2008 she was awarded the Order of Australia Medal for services to the legal sector particularly as an insurance lawyer and to the community. She was also previously a director of the Australand Group (now Frasers Property Group), Greenstone Limited, and the Superannuation Administration Corporation (Pillar Administration).

Ms Milne has a Bachelor of Law from the University of Sydney and is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Member, Janet Dore

Ms Dore is an accomplished senior leader who has modelled trust and integrity in her varied roles across government and not-for-profit sectors.

She is a public advocate for safety and wellbeing and for economic development to benefit communities, with a strong background in implementing operational models for achieving outcomes in personal injury schemes.

Ms Dore was the chief executive officer of the Transport Accident Commission in Victoria from 2008 to 2015 and has previously held senior executive roles in local government as chief executive officer of the Cities of Ballarat and Newcastle NSW.

Ms Dore has been Chair of the Committee for Ballarat since October 2015 and is currently Deputy Chair of the Central Highlands Water Board, Victorian Taxi Services Commissioner, Municipal Monitor at the Rural City of Ararat, and Director of the Municipal Association of Victoria (MVA) WorkCare. Her previous Board experience has included nib Health Funds, Newcastle Airport, and the Institute for Safety Compensation and Recovery Research (ISCRR).

Ms Dore holds a Master of Business Administration from Deakin University and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Member, Chris Latham

Mr Latham is an actuary with extensive experience in accident compensation schemes throughout Australia and New Zealand. He has advised government authorities and private insurers over long periods on matters relating to premiums, balance sheet liabilities and costs of benefit changes.

He was a partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers for over 20 years before retiring in 2013.

Mr Latham is currently a non-executive director of ReturntoworkSA and the Asbestos Injury Compensation Fund. He was previously Chairman of the Personal Injury Education Fund (PIEF) and a director of the Institute of Safety Compensation and Rehabilitation Research (ISCRR).

He has been a member of the Board of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia and been an active member of various committees and taskforces relating to general insurance, professional standards, financial condition reports and research. He has authored a number of papers on insurance and accident compensation matters.

He has a Bachelor Science (Hons) degree from the University of Tasmania and is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia.

Member, John Trowbridge

Mr Trowbridge has a background as a consultant, executive, company director and regulator in a career spent predominantly in financial services with an emphasis on insurance-related businesses.

He founded Trowbridge Consulting in the 1980s which became a leading actuarial and management consulting firm in Australia and Asia, merging with Deloitte in 2000. From 2006 to 2010, as one of the Australian Prudential Regulatory Authority’s three Members he had carriage of life and general insurance and also executive remuneration. He chaired the Australian Government’s review of natural disaster insurance following the 2011 floods. In 2015, he chaired the Life Insurance and Advice Working Group to recommend reforms in the life insurance industry which came into effect in January 2018.

Mr Trowbridge continues to undertake occasional consulting assignments and he recently played a pivotal role in the recent redesign of the CTP premium regime in NSW. John has degrees in science, engineering and arts and is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia. He was President of that Institute in 1998 and a member of the Treasurer’s Financial Sector Advisory Council from 1998 to 2004.