Review of the guidelines for workplace return to work programs

The workplace return to work programs guidelines are used to help develop return to work programs in workplaces.

  • The Issue

    Consultation period: 06/10/2016 12:00 am to 15/11/2016 11:59 pm

    Made under section 52 of the Workplace Injury Management and Workers Compensation Act 1998, the guidelines are designed to support, inform and guide employers, workers and other stakeholders when developing a return to work program for their workplace.

    A working party including subject matter experts from across the workers compensation system conducted a review of the existing guidelines (published in September 2010) and drafted a 2016 version for public consultation.

    From this review we have developed an accompanying summary of changes document, providing a rationale for all significant changes included in the new draft as well as a summary of all other changes made to the Guidelines.

    Training requirements for Return to Work Coordinators are also included in this consultation as these are stipulated in the Guidelines.

    We intend to use this consultation to develop and implement informative and useful Guidelines for employers, workers and other stakeholders involved in workplace return to work programs.

    We will publish a consultation summary paper in December 2016.

    Please read our consultations submissions procedure before making any submission.

    For more information and to submit your feedback, please email consultation@sira.nsw.gov.au.

  • Milestones

    • 15 July 2015: Working party completed their review of the current guidelines
    • 31 January 2016: Targeted consultation finalised
    • 31 August 2016: Draft guidelines completed
    • 6 October 2016 - 15 November 2016: Consultation period open
  • Outcomes

    A public consultation was completed on 15 November 2016.

    27 submissions were received including 16 non-confidential submissions.

    We have developed a submissions summary paper which is available to the public.

    We will continue to review our stakeholders’ comments and issue the final Guidelines for workplace return to work programs (Guidelines) in 2017.

    View the submissions here

Have your say

Completed

Days remaining for your submission: 0 (of 0)
0%
Started:
Submissions close: